SparkFun Forums 

Where electronics enthusiasts find answers.

Questions relating to designing PCBs
By huramentzefix
hello fellow sparkies,
I just recently got into home automation systems and find it to be a very interesting topic. I have some basic knowledge but a lot of things are still new to me.
I have some outside LED lights which are switched on and off by a photosensitive resistor.
It consists of it's own little enclosed and is connected to 110V (125V in reallity). So it has it's own transformer and controlls a relay. I can't get inside that enclosure.
I own a couple of sonoff devices and have currently tasmota running on them. I would like to connect a sonoff to my photoresistor's output to read the status and voltage.
It has 3 wires. The output voltage is the input voltage.

How can I connect the 125V AC to my PIO14 on my sonoff? I was thinking of a voltage divider consisting of a 1.6kOhm resistor and R2 12 Ohms.
That should give me 0.97V AC @ 130V. 6,2Watt. What is the specifications on the ELM8266 PIO14? + 2 diodes to get AC.
does that make sense? does it have to be stabilised in any form?

I understand that I only can get a voltage reading when it's dark outside.
By madbodger