SparkFun Forums 

Where electronics enthusiasts find answers.

Questions relating to designing PCBs
By WBrumble
All,

I have a question when designing the footprints for components in Altium.

Do you create the thermal Vias in the footprint library of the component or do you add them later when you have started
a PCB project?

Also when creating a thermal pad under a LED for example, do you use the pad feature or do you pour it?

NOOB

But enjoy electronics on a hobby level, I'm no engineer, ha ha.

Thanks all!
By InactiveUser001
I do not know Altium or how to create components in it.

owever for the process - I would rather add them as pads (not vias) in the component.

This way they are part of the component and do not need adding later, do not stay where they are when the component is later moved and will not get changed back to a netlist if the net is unrouted. How you do it in Altium is another matter.
By WBrumble
Thanks for the response Mattylad.

Good advice on putting it in the component so that it goes where the component goes and doesn't have to be added later.

Building it according to the manufactures recommended thermal management design. To avoid over heating the LEDs and
resulting in shorted life.

http://www.google.com.vn/url?sa=t&rct=j ... 9542,d.dGY

It will not be hand soldered they are SMD, and I will have the board manufacturer do everything.

I also have questions on when I do them what is the best procedure, pour with vias, pad with through holes, and also the
procedure for tenting the outter edge of the thermal pad, and tenting over the bottom of the holes to keep solder
from leaking out the bottom if it happens during the build.

THANK YOU!
By WBrumble
Also,

Can someone point me in the right direction for a tutorial explaining how to make components with multiple functions and how to define them in the schematic?