SparkFun Forums 

Where electronics enthusiasts find answers.

Questions relating to designing PCBs
By JimWright
Hey folks, if there's a better place to post this, please feel free to point me in the right direction.

I'm a noob at Eagle, and at this point it seems that I'm not going to have enough time to really figure out how to make it do what I need, so I'm putting out a call for some help.

What has me stumped is that I need to use a component that I can't find in an existing library, specifically a TI TPS2511, a USB charge port controller. This particular chip uses a PowerPad package, and requires vias for thermal dissipation, and preferably a good bit of copper top and bottom to help with this. I've found the basic package design in Eagle, but nothing that includes the thermal vias I'd need.

I'm hoping to find someone that can whip up a library with this chip. I'm building a multi-port iPad/iPhone/etc charging station. I think I should be able to do a small board with two of these and a dual USB port fairly cheaply, I'd need two such boards for my project.
By Ross Robotics
The thermals is just small vias placed close together. And the copper is probably just the ground planes. Let me take a look at the datasheet and I get back with ya.

Did you want someone to design the board or just the TPS2511 footprint?

UPDATE: Just looked at the footprint in the datasheet and it's just a standard thermal pad underneath. But, I still would put some thermal relief vias under and maybe beside it.
By JimWright
Hey, Codlink. I was thinking that at least two vias should be able to fit under the chip, I found other PowerPad chips in Eagle, some had vias, some didn't. Since this chip will have 2.1a flowing through it, the better the path for heat to escape, the better.