SparkFun Forums 

Where electronics enthusiasts find answers.

Questions relating to designing PCBs
By xz124
Hey everyone,

This is my first time designing a board, and I just wanted to get some opinions on what could be improved or changed before I sent this out to the fab. Thanks!

All Layers:

Top Layers:

Bottom Layers:
By Ross Robotics
Since we don't know what the ICs are, you might want to post the schematic...
By MichaelN
Looks pretty good, especially for a first board. I recommend you use the bottom layer as a groundplane as much as possible (i.e., minimise the number of tracks / breaks on the bottom layer). I’d suggest moving the capacitors currently on the bottom layer to the top layer (there is plenty of room). Right-angle corners in tracks are generally frowned on, so I’d suggest mitering these.
By leon_heller
Ground and supply tracks should be wider, and each Vdd lead on the chip should be decoupled.
By n1ist
I'd guess the IC is an ATMega328p as this is an Arduino-style board. In addition to what's been pointed out, you have a few potential acid traps (places where traces meet pads or other traces at acute angles).

As for caps, I'd add one more decoupling cap at least on the right side of the chip (possibly a bead and cap on AVcc if you plan to do much analog stuff) and a cap from Aref to ground.

I would also pour a ground plane on the back side. It would improve performance and get a few traces off the front.

You may want to look into rotating the processor 45 degrees; that's common on boards of this type to help with routing.

If your pinout can be changed, you may want to move AR to between 13 and A0 for better routing.

There are a few place where there's silk text over vias. That may end up looking rather messy (if the vias are tented) or not show up at all (if the vias are plated)

/mike
By Mach3Maelstrom