SparkFun Forums 

Where electronics enthusiasts find answers.

Questions relating to designing PCBs
By steve1515
Hello everyone.

I'm making my first electronics project that will (hopefully) end up as a PCB. It's a Serial to Ethernet Gateway that uses an Atmega328p (Arduino) and a WizNet WIZ811MJ (W5100) Ethernet board. I was hoping to get some review and critique of my circuit before I go and buy parts.

Here is some info on it...
I expect about 12VDC as input with regulators providing 5V and 3.3V on the board. The Atmega will have a dip switch for config settings and LED's for status. There is also a MAX232 for RS-232 level conversion.

I believe that I have everything wired and selected correctly, but since this is my first try at producing a PCB, I'd like a review.

I'm a little concerned that I might have selected the wrong cap values or types, so please let me know.

Also, for the WIZ811MJ board, there are 3 4.7k resistors pulling up unused inputs. Could I take the three unused inputs, tie them together, and then connect them to a single 10k resistor and then to 3.3V? Would that also work?

Finally, I wasn't sure, but do I need to add some kind of cap from the Atmega chip's reset pin to ground? I believe that this might be unneeded, but I wasn't sure.

Thanks for any help! :D

Current Image Link: http://img443.imageshack.us/img443/1845 ... ateway.png

Old Image Link 1: http://img835.imageshack.us/img835/1845 ... ateway.png

Old Image Link 2: http://img210.imageshack.us/img210/1845 ... ateway.png

Original Image Link: http://img254.imageshack.us/img254/1845 ... ateway.png

Last edited by steve1515 on Sat Jul 14, 2012 10:39 pm, edited 3 times in total.
By rrpilot
Hopefully someone else is willing to do a thorough review for you but I just noticed one red-flag. The serial interface between U5 and U3 are using different supply voltages, can U5 handle 5V inputs? You may need to do some level shifting there.
By AndyC_772
<dumb question>