SparkFun Forums 

Where electronics enthusiasts find answers.

Questions relating to designing PCBs
By KCT_99
Hi all together,

well, I have to apologize upfront for the provocation. A coworker of mine, a PADS Guru, did do a test drive of EAGLE and had mentioned to me it feels amateurish to him.
I do use EAGLE for my home projects and occasionally at work and I am quite happy with it. I am not sure what he meant, since PADS does feel weired to me when I use it.
To me PADS is just another crappy corporate software, patched together like many other MENTOR graphics products.

So what is your opinion on EGALE vs. so called professional software.

Is EAGLE not considered professional ?

Cheers
By rpcelectronics
I can only comment on my experience with Eagle vs. Pads. I have been using Eagle for 10 years now and I can say that I am very comfortable with it. I think it does a great job for what I design. I have at least 20 products that I have produced with it and continue to do so.

As for Pads, the only reason I ever tried it was for a possible PCB design job I was going after. The potential employer suggested all candidates have working knowledge of the software. So I downloaded the freebie version to try. Within an hour of installing it, I was so frustrated, I gave up. I hated it. I could'nt even get a simple project started.

The worst part, I made the mistake of using a real email in their crummy sign up section just to download the free version. They used this to stick a sales guy on me for weeks. He blew my phone up, calling just about every day. I finally told him I hated the software and it was the biggest POS I ever tried to learn. He said "Oh, let me send you some good tutorials.". When I got the tutorials, they were worse than the regular user's manual.

I uninstalled the free version and never bothered with it again.

Just my $0.02
By leon_heller
The PCB Matrix forum is used by professionals:

http://www.pcbmatrix.com/Forum/