SparkFun Forums 

Where electronics enthusiasts find answers.

Questions relating to designing PCBs

How much would you pay to use a fully equipped electronics workbench for a day?

$500
13%
$250
No votes
0%
$100
25%
Not even $100
63%
By stewie
I'm a graduated EE student and now (shock) I have no lab anymore! Where do people go, or what do people do, when they want access to a lab facility with variable AC and DC Power supplies, function generators, oscilloscopes, microscopes, electronic loads, etc., as well as a computer with professional grade software (e.g. LabView, MultiSim, PSPICE, AutoCAD, etc.)?

Do places exist where you can just pay for time at a place like this, or do people mostly just try to make due? I feel spoiled now that I had so much freedom to use a great lab.

Anyways, since I haven't heard of a place like that before - how would you (hobbyists, professionals, students, ...) like to have a place like that? Would you pay to use a facility equipped with all the design/test equipment and software you could want? Would you want it to include generic components and wires free of charge? What would you pay to use a place like this for 1 hour? 1 day (24 hours)? or 1 month of 24-hour access?

Thanks for you feedback and suggestions!
By galed
You know, that's a problem I haven't fully run into yet... I'm still a EE student. :P Honestly, I think the best bet is something like:
http://www.sparkfun.com/commerce/produc ... ts_id=9263
or ebay equipment

I have wondered about why nobody has set up a lab that you can pay for access to like you mentioned... the only thing I can come up with is profitability. I think most people that would use a place like that are either students (who already have lab access) or professional engineers (who have lab access at their employer, presumably)
By NleahciM