Eagle layer color selection

Questions relating to designing PCBs

Moderator: phalanx

Post Reply
kacper
Posts: 21
Joined: Thu Aug 27, 2009 7:24 am

Eagle layer color selection

Post by kacper » Mon Aug 31, 2009 10:55 am

The display dialog's color selection seems to be missing some colors on my installation. For example I can not select white as a color for the tPlace layer. I see two rows of colors and the rest are all dark grey. Anyone who knows how one can select more colors?

Windows 7
Eagle 5.6.0

Image

theatrus
Support Volunteer
Posts: 633
Joined: Thu Oct 02, 2008 1:50 pm
Location: CA
Contact:

Post by theatrus » Mon Aug 31, 2009 1:54 pm

Are you doing something silly such as running under 256 color compatibility mode? I haven't tried Eagle under Windows 7 either, so it could be a compatibility issue.
http://www.stackfoundry.com : Open Source Hardware : BeagleBoard Expansion boards, EFM32 (Cortex-M3), AVR32 Dev Boards, and debug tools

kacper
Posts: 21
Joined: Thu Aug 27, 2009 7:24 am

Post by kacper » Tue Sep 01, 2009 7:45 am

I'd figured it out. In the board editor under Options - Set... One should turn of "Use alpha blending". Having the bottom and top layer on at the same time gives a rather fashionable color if you turn alpha blending off. Perhaps adding the colors manually by setting the "Alpha channel" to 255 is a better approach.
Any idea what alpha blending is?

TheDirty
Support Volunteer
Posts: 657
Joined: Sun Jan 04, 2009 8:06 am
Location: Toronto, ON, Canada

Post by TheDirty » Tue Sep 01, 2009 8:47 am

It's a way of mixing the different layer colours, so you can see through top layers and see layers underneath.
Mark Higgins

User avatar
sparky
Site Admin
Posts: 1337
Joined: Mon May 05, 2003 6:02 pm
Location: Colorado
Contact:

Re: Eagle layer color selection

Post by sparky » Fri Dec 09, 2011 2:15 pm

Version 5.11 on windows 7 seems to lock the palette now. A command will fix spot 16 to white:

set palette 16 0x00000000;
Pursue the cheese, win the excellence.

Post Reply