SparkFun Forums 

Where electronics enthusiasts find answers.

Open source ARM Debugger
By bloggins666
I have some experience using the Atollic TrueSTUDIO tool to develop s/w for a STM32L4... processor. I have my own STM32F429 Discovery board and I was hoping to work with it just using free s/w (eclipse and openocd). I have had some success with this combination but I find it problematic.

I work exclusively with LInux (running Kubuntu 14.04LTS) and I'm connecting to the Discovery board via USB cable to the ST-Link/V2 connector.

I'm using eclipse (Luna) and openocd 0,9.0. I have used the ST-Micro utility to bring the Firmware on the ST-Link/V2 to V2J2m15.

From the command line or within eclipse (the results are the same) I have this as my command line for openocd:

openocd -f board/stm32f429discovery.cfg

Here is the output:

Open On-Chip Debugger 0.9.0-dev-00223-g1567cae (2015-01-12-13:43)
Licensed under GNU GPL v2
For bug reports, read
http://openocd.sourceforge.net/doc/doxygen/bugs.html
Info : The selected transport took over low-level target control. The results might differ compared to plain JTAG/SWD
adapter speed: 2000 kHz
adapter_nsrst_delay: 100
srst_only separate srst_nogate srst_open_drain connect_deassert_srst
Info : clock speed 2000 kHz
Error: open failed
in procedure 'init'
in procedure 'ocd_bouncer'
in procedure 'transport'
in procedure 'init'

I have attached the output with the debug output level set to 3.

What am I doing wrong here? I had the same problem with another board. It was working fine and I had been developing my software without a problem. I may have done an OS update and it suddenly stopped working.

I then bought this board and tried to develop upon it but I am brought up with this problem. I was able to get the other board (STM32F401C-DISCO) to work by updating the ST-Link/V2 firmware on it. The same process does not work with this board.

Cheers!!
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.