SparkFun Forums 

Where electronics enthusiasts find answers.

What are we doing right with Artemis? What are we doing wrong? Let us know here!
If you are a TL;DR kind of person, the title is enough. If not, uncork a hazy IPA let's see how long you last:

As a starting point, let me say that I have been working with Atmel parts (now MicroChip) for over 20 years now. A long time ago, I got locked into Atmel's Studio development environment if only because it is a pain in the butt to learn ones all the time. But honestly, their Studio software development and debugging product is really good and gets better all the time. It's a great example of a product from a company that understands that you it is easiest to sell silicon when it is easy for developers to use. There are lots of silicon vendors out there who know that.

But now, I find myself entranced by the Apollo3 from a silicon perspective, but turned off from a development perspective. An Arduino environment is an awesome starting point. Arduino's main feature is that you can get running really really quickly because a single install takes care of hiding a myriad of details. Once installed, Arduino is great for running the built-in examples or for creating your own programs based on tweaking those examples. What Arduino is lousy for is developing a program that fills any substantial portion of the Apollo3's 1 meg of flash or 384K of RAM. Specifically, Serial.print debugging or blinking an LED only gets you so far until you end up with a stack problem or dangling pointer or race condition and you really, really wish you had a real debugger. I have found that the best way to write a complex Arduino library is to develop it in Studio using a real debugger, and port it back into the Arduino environment once it works.