SparkFun Forums 

Where electronics enthusiasts find answers.

Tips, tricks, & best best practices using Artemis with your board designs.
By brandensws
We have created 3 boards that utilize the Artemis and admit I am new to this and have lots to learn. We are developing in the Arduino IDE. One of the boards we have has been routinely been getting an error when uploading.

"Artemis SVL Bootloader
Target failed to enter bootload mode. Verify the right COM port is selected and that your board has the SVL bootloader."

This error comes after anywhere from 5 to 30 successful uploads on a fresh prototype board.

We have tried all the standard things like new cords, rebooting the computer, double checking the com port..... and we can still program to other boards.
We have tried re burning the SVL bootloader per, https://github.com/sparkfun/Apollo3_Uploader_SVL the board would not accept a new bootloader
We have also manually pulled the boot pin high while attempting to upload as recommended by friend. no luck
We have slowed the upload speed to the slowest option. no luck

We are using a SparkFun CH340 Programmer. This most recent failure happened when power to the board was only provided by the CH340 programmer, 3.3v. We were using the serial monitor to verify the code being sent via BLE from our other board. The board that failed was freshly soldered today had 20-30 successful uploads and was working perfectly in all other aspects.