SparkFun Forums 

Where electronics enthusiasts find answers.

Tips and questions relating to the GPS modules from SFE
By geste
I stumbled across some 4-inch tall red 7-segment LEDs in a local surplus shop and it wasn't long before I bought the SFE GPS Clock board. I'm no PIC programmer, but I figured I knew enought to piece this together.

I used the Bloader to install the provided sample code and that seemed to go OK

The LEDs have 10 pins. I didn't have a hookup sheet, but I used 9 volt leads and mapped out the common cathode and pins for segments a through g. Or at least I made each of a-g light up (I ignored the decimal point) with 9 volts with the ground/negative connected to pin 3. I cut a stock RJ45 patch cable in half and hooked up ground and segments a-g and then plugged that test LED into port 6. When I power it up, segment f blinks on and off, but that is it. I took it out on the deck and left it for 10 minutes so that GPS would have time to acquire (thinking that maybe the display would just blink something until acquisition. I also plugged that LED into RJ45 jacks 1 through 5 with the same result that segment f just blinks.

Before I went much further I figured it was time to stop and question my assumptions :)

I took it from the board's schematics that ground/cathode was common. Is that true?

Since I am lighting up at least 1 segment, I am assuming that my pin 1 to pin 8 RJ45 orientation/assignment (with Pin 1 white/orange connected to ground) is correct. Fair assumption? It looked like the traces from U16 to U17 to JP6 would line up just like in schematic, so I went with RJ45 pin 1 as ground.

Should I be assuming that the a-g outputs will drive a 7-segment display like this directly?

If everything else is hooked up correctly, will the sample code available for download actually display a HHMMSS clock off of the 6 RJ45 outputs? I looked at the code before I loaded it but I would have to struggle a lot more to make sense of it.