SparkFun Forums 

Where electronics enthusiasts find answers.

Tips and questions relating to the GPS modules from SFE
By hkwmon
Hi all GPS users,

Which GPS Eval Board I ought to buy due to your experiences.
I will use the GPS with the ADuC832 Eval Board.
This board have a Industry Standard 8052 Microcontroller and a Serial Interface Port (RS232) with 5V.
I have enough place and power and I want to use external magnetic antenna.
Thank you in advance for your helps.
Best regards from Switzerland
Willy
By jaime
well... i'm not a expert, but i bought a lassen iq rs232 ev board and works good. I connect to my pic with rs232 and if i want i can connect to the pc.

~The only problen is because i cant compare lassen iq with other moduls like sirf3. I'm doing a simple log file. I log nmea data from the gps. Sometimes the track in the map is a litle wrong. Dont know if the fault is in the gps or in the map.

Hope it helps, and hope to have answers about experiences with this and other gps moduls...

from Portugal

Jaime
By hkwmon
Dear Jaime
Thanks for your answer.
Many questions in the GPS column refer to the EM-406 .
Is this module with 20 channel more exact or is lassen iq more easier to use and therefore gives it no questions?
Best regards from Switzerland.
Willy
By jaime
I have the same question... i dont know wich is the best...

I hope someone can help you (and me) and tell more about is own experience...

But i'm happy with Lassen

Jaime
By ckuethe
First off, it would be helpful to know what you're doing. I doubt you'd see any difference in the performance of these modules if you were sitting on the top of the tallest building in town, or out in a wide open field. Down in an "urban canyon" with cars and tall buildings all around, and you very likely would see some differences.