SparkFun Forums 

Where electronics enthusiasts find answers.

Tips and questions relating to the GPS modules from SFE
By RancidWannaRiot
Hi,

I'm new to this GPS thing..

anyway.. i have a few questions

1) I'm running a 5V micro contrller that can only hand 3V as minimum for logic high (I'm just gonna say 3.3V is the lowest)... the EM406 outputs 2.85 as logic high... what do you guys suggest I do in order to be able to shift voltages from 2.85V => 5V for reading the module and 5V=>2.85 for writting to it....

2)
The data sheets on the EM406 aren't very specific... WHen it starts up.. what do i do?? do i have to configure it.. do i have to send stuff to it?? what happens?

3)
How do you gyus normally power the unit? I have a 5V regulator, but the GPS unit has it's own regulator.. as far as i know.. it's bad to chanin regulators.. so what do you guys do?
By RancidWannaRiot
hello?

Also, how do you guysgenerate 2.85V so that the shifter can output to the GPS unit...

so what i'm saying is, when you're trying to go from 5V to 2.85V, how do you generate 2.85V to power the shifter...?
By daemondust
1) You can use a circuit similar to what's described in http://www.sparkfun.com/datasheets/Prot ... ter-v2.pdf to shift the output. You could also use something like TI's sn74lvc4245, but it isn't exactly what you need since it can only go one way at a time, and has more converters than you need.

2) When it starts up it starts spitting out NMEA sentences. I think the default is to send a GGA, a GSA, and a RMC sentence every second, and to send a GSV every 5. By default it does this at 4800bps. You can use a program called SiRFDemo to change what messages it sends out, how frequently, and at what speed.

3) While it generally isn't a good idea to chain regulators, it usually works fine. If you're worried about connecting it to your 5v line, add a filter cap. next to the GPS module to reduce ripple.