SparkFun Forums 

Where electronics enthusiasts find answers.

Tips and questions relating to the GPS modules from SFE
By ryan
hi all
how can i make Lassen iQ to output RMC senctences instead of GGA
thnx...
By Caffeine
ryan wrote:hi all
how can i make Lassen iQ to output RMC senctences instead of GGA
thnx...
Use the GPS breakout boards, connect it to the PC and send the appropriate messages to it using the software supplied by trimble (IQ Monitor)
By ryan
which port should i connect it to ?
Port 1 or Port 2 ! and what are those appropriate messages.
thnx...
By jandirks
I take it you didn't read the datasheet?

Have a look at it first, then you will find your answers. Appendix A for RMC and chapter 2 (hardware integration)
By Craig
Hello, Newbie here.

I've just ordered the GPS logger complete kit, I did this because I haven't done any low-level programming before and it's been ages since I did any soldering. I figured it would be easier to get the whole thing premade but now I am discovering things that I'd really like to change, like getting out the RMC sentence and the frequency of the recordings. Since I'm using this for hiking I need a long battery life and logging can be as slow as every few minutes.

I have a friend who has done some embedded programming but before I get him involved I want to have everything ready. I see there is something called iQ_CHAT that can communicate with the GPS module in the logger kit. Since I have ordered the whole thing, will I be able to access the GPS Module (via the serial port boot loader http://www.sparkfun.com/commerce/produc ... cts_id=714 I presume), or is it now soldered into place where I can't get direct access to it? Where do I get the iQ_CHAT program from? and has anyone previously configured one of these to output only the RMC sentence and then record the output at a much slower rate?
By Craig