SparkFun Forums 

Where electronics enthusiasts find answers.

Tips and questions relating to the GPS modules from SFE
By nblracer
First i would like to state that im very new to this world of electronics.

I bought the Venus GPS Logger a while ago, along with a seeduino mega v1.1. and just now have the time to play with it.
I have the GPS connected to the auduino tx0 and rx0 port, and using the regulated 3.3v power from the arduino to power the gps.
The arduino has an empty sketch loaded to it
Code: Select all
void setup()
{
}

void loop() 
{
}
{
using the serial monitor within the arduino I was able to get some communication with the gps. So I fired up the SkyTraq Gps viewing software. That too also worked for the most part although I was un able to get a lock or even track one satellites. So I decided to re connect it up to my laptop so i could go out side. It took a while but i was able to track a few satellites and get a 2d gps fix on my location, with the updated and correct time.

So the problem is now it's not working at all. All im getting is garbage/ noise from the seail communication in the form or random chars.
Code: Select all