SparkFun Forums 

Where electronics enthusiasts find answers.

Tips and questions relating to the GPS modules from SFE
By amcleod
My brand new GS407 (uBlox 5) can't seem to find any satellites.

I've connected it to a uBlox Adapter from DIYdrones, powered it with 5v, and using the 4-wire (-,+,Tx,RX) headers I've connected to my computer with an FTDI cable. u-Center is receiving various $GPTXT messages from the unit, but apparently nothing else. I'm not getting any data on the Receiver Status window (other than "No Fix" in red for Fix Mode).

The u-Center Troubleshooting section only tells you how to troubleshoot u-Center, not the GPS module itself. I am a novice with this type of unit, and don't know what to try next.

Any suggestions greatly welcome!
By fll-freak
Stupid question: Are you outside with a view of the sky? GPS only works if it has a clear view of the satelites! Automotive glass, low-e building glass, moisture (like in tree leaves) will all degrade a signal. Structural materials (metals and woods) from a building act as a pure block.

Less stupid question: How long did you wait for a fix? A virgin GPS may take 10-20 minutes to get a fix.

Even Less stupid question: What type of antenna do you have and need? My very old uBlox modules (1980 vintage) needed an amplified antenna. You had to pass the antenna LNA power supply voltage on a seperate pin. If yours is the same check the antenna supply. If your unit needs an active antenna make sure that is what you have.
By sylvie369
(Double-checking with my GPS...)

Okay, the satelites are still up there, at least numbers 9, 14, 15, 18, 21, 24, 26 and 27.
By amcleod
fll-freak wrote:Stupid question: Are you outside with a view of the sky?
I tried it by the window, I stuck it OUT the window on a long pole, and I went out and sat on the driveway with a laptop on a starry night and tried there. Zip.
By fll-freak