SparkFun Forums 

Where electronics enthusiasts find answers.

Tips and questions relating to the GPS modules from SFE
By gregd
I still haven't been able to revive my EM-406A module. Is is dead, a sleep (low power snooze, whatever), confused, or what? I'm new to these devices, and need some expert troubleshooting advice before blowing another $60 on a replacement.

Symptoms:
- The little LED glows very very very dimly. Steady, not blinking
- Current draw is about 10ma
- No output from the serial port. The output pin is sitting at +2.52v
- Power to the device is steady at +5.03v

It was working, tied to a 2 watt ham transceiver. Batteries ran down, I recharged them, and now it's in this state.

I've let it sit, turned off, for about 3 weeks; no change when turned back on today.

What should I do?

Thanks,

Greg.
By henryhallam
Sounds dead to me. I've had one die on me before.
By gregd
henryhallam wrote:Sounds dead to me. I've had one die on me before.
When yours died, were the symptoms the same? Dim LED, low current, etc.? Do you recall what killed it?

I saw one other posting on another site, where the owner claimed that having the unit some 45 meters from a 2.5kw shortwave transmitter killed the LNA. Seems a bit hard to believe, but my unit was a few inches from a 2.5 watt (NOT Kw) VHF transmitter... Again, hard to believe; anyone else have some direct experience on this sort of thing?

Thanks,

Greg.
By theatrus
gregd wrote:
henryhallam wrote: I saw one other posting on another site, where the owner claimed that having the unit some 45 meters from a 2.5kw shortwave transmitter killed the LNA. Seems a bit hard to believe, but my unit was a few inches from a 2.5 watt (NOT Kw) VHF transmitter... Again, hard to believe; anyone else have some direct experience on this sort of thing?