SparkFun Forums 

Where electronics enthusiasts find answers.

Tips and questions relating to the GPS modules from SFE
By Coyote47
thank you for reading. I need help. I have an idea for a gps tracking device that would be used for a game similar to Paintball called Airsoft I was wondering if it would be possible to create a small device that would broadcast a gps coordinate and some sort of id number that could be picked up by a base station (laptop) and mapped in real time. Hopefully it would be run on Normal batteries (9v, AA, AAA), have a range of about 2mile max and be able to track up to 100 units (or more). Can someone help me design this device and get a price per unit estimation. I have very little electronics knowledge but if this was feasible I would go and learn. Thanks again.
By Krogoth
Yes, it's feasible, but it's going to be very difficult or expensive (likely both). You could either use a GM862/3 GPS module as the tracking device and a GSM modem on your laptop for 'infinite' range (over the cellular network), or use a generic GPS module with a radio transmitter, and a receiver connected to your laptop.

I'm guessing you want to track all the Airsoft players in real-time within the combat area. The most elegant solution I can think of is a miniature GPS connected to an XBee Pro Series 2 module in mesh configuration. That way, as long as each player is within 1 mile of each other, and there is a player within 1 mile of the base station, you can get communication throughout all the modules (could allow for some neat proximity warnings, etc).

That said, to do this would be very very difficult with limited electronics knowledge, and would end up costing about $100 per unit (so 100 units will set you back 10 grand). My advice: if you're a hobbyist, hit the books, and if you run an Airsoft company and own a combat zone (and have money to spend), hire an engineer to do the dirty work :P

Will.
By gussy
I think the best way to go would be something like this: