DRC BOT adding 0.1" to pcb size and cost

Questions about the BatchPCB service

Moderators: phalanx, robacarp

Locked
User avatar
redwire
Posts: 101
Joined: Sat Apr 10, 2010 10:31 pm
Location: Edmonton, AB Canada

DRC BOT adding 0.1" to pcb size and cost

Post by redwire » Tue Jan 08, 2013 12:20 pm

I'm finding the DRC bot adds 0.1" along the PCB outline perimeter:

Upload a PCB (exactly 17.47in^2) it's $42.50; after DRC bot runs it's $47.50 and ~19in^2
Upload a PCB (exactly 4.03in^2) it's $10; after DRC bot runs it's $12 and ~5in^2

I complained once and they manually adjust, but this is a hassle.
The PCB's are a simple rectangle with no parts near the edge.

Anyone else getting hosed like this?

jmbw
Posts: 14
Joined: Mon Mar 07, 2011 3:26 pm

Re: DRC BOT adding 0.1" to pcb size and cost

Post by jmbw » Fri Jan 18, 2013 12:03 pm

I've seen crazy constants added to the dimensions in the DRC report but not in the billable size *except* that unless things have changed in the botched website overhaul, it bills you for the width of the outline. I.e. the billable size is to the outer edges of the outline instead of its centerline. So I use a 0-mil line in the .oln file -- or I used to until I gave up on ever getting the new website to accept my files. Somehow I doubt you're using a 100-mil line for your outline... But if you are, there's your problem!

Locked