Page 1 of 1

Auto PCB Size calculation

Posted: Fri Dec 30, 2005 1:15 am
by jfallin
Hi,

I know this subject has been discussed in several of the forum threads but I could not find a definative answer to my question

I have a design I have done in Eagle and submitted to the DRCBOT. Within Eagle, it all fits within a 2 x 2 " border with margin. I have generated gerbers and checked in pentalogix and confirmed the copper, silkscreen and stop layers all stay withing this 2 by 2 " border.

Batchcom, however, reports it as over 2" x 2" so is adding $2.50 per board to my cost

Anyone have any advise. In case anyone at SFE is looking at this, the design name is light3

Thanks
John

Posted: Fri Dec 30, 2005 5:37 am
by pittuck
ok, i just ran ur board and got
Code: Select all
X Max: 2.1463 X Min: 0

Y Max: 2.1402 Y Min: 0.1482

PCB Size: 4.2754296 inches square
Estimated price per board: $12.5
by manual inspection i get about 1.998 * 2.011 = 4.017 (i.e over 4 sq.inch.)

now if u remove the R4 text i get 1.998 * 1.998, which is under 4. The DRC bot is correct...

Posted: Sat Dec 31, 2005 1:12 pm
by jfallin
Hi,

Thanks for your reply. I did move the R4 text. and did some other squeezing, but I still cannot see why DRCBOT is thinking the board is so big. I looked att all 6 gerber files + the DRD file in Pentalogix and cannot see any X or Y demension bigger then 2". Eagle also tells me the same thing. Are you adding some margin to the sizing to account for Saw Kerf or something?

John

PS I would not worry about $2.50 extra except that I am going to order 10 of these boards once I confirm the prototype is OK [/img]

Posted: Sat Dec 31, 2005 3:10 pm
by NleahciM
jfallin wrote:Hi,

Thanks for your reply. I did move the R4 text. and did some other squeezing, but I still cannot see why DRCBOT is thinking the board is so big. I looked att all 6 gerber files + the DRD file in Pentalogix and cannot see any X or Y demension bigger then 2". Eagle also tells me the same thing. Are you adding some margin to the sizing to account for Saw Kerf or something?

John

PS I would not worry about $2.50 extra except that I am going to order 10 of these boards once I confirm the prototype is OK [/img]
I haven't seen your board - but have you made sure that the board starts at 0,0? For some reason Eagle always seems to place the lower left corner of boards in the negative x and y.