Page 3 of 4

Posted: Wed Nov 09, 2005 12:20 am
by sparky
Dakiller is adequately named. I've stripped and thoroughly cleaned the size script with no luck. Your board kills the 30s max time.

Guess what. I need to get PHP installed on the DRC bot. This way we will have no limit (well, a few minutes anyway) and way more processing power.

Dakiller is going to be a no-go for the moment.

-Nathan

Posted: Wed Nov 09, 2005 1:14 am
by Caffeine
Golly! Anything I can do to the board to make it simpler? It's originally an older version of Protel format, imported into 2004, then exported to camtastic and then to gerber :(

Posted: Wed Nov 09, 2005 6:52 am
by donblake
NleahciM wrote:
donblake wrote:I've submitted a design several times over the last few days and have received no email from BatchPCB.com. I've checked my email address - it's correct - it also hasn't changed since the beta testing was first begun.

Don
if you're using hotmail - it treats them as spam...
Nope - not using hotmail. I'm using the same address I used for the initial testing starting back on 07 September. All of a sudden, I'm not getting any email back after submitting a design.

Don

Posted: Wed Nov 09, 2005 4:47 pm
by sparky
Nope - it's not the design that is the problem. Well, not really.

Your gerber bottom layer is nearly 68000 lines of text. The size script can process the entire thing correctly and in 20-30 seconds. But when you tack on the other layers for checking (smaller, but adds time) the size script takes 45-50 seconds.

The problem is it's an underlying problem. I'll figure out a solution. But at the moment, the size script won't be able to handle more than 4x4" boards if you've got a ground pour.

-Nathan

Posted: Wed Nov 09, 2005 5:17 pm
by donblake
donblake wrote:
NleahciM wrote: if you're using hotmail - it treats them as spam...
Nope - not using hotmail. I'm using the same address I used for the initial testing starting back on 07 September. All of a sudden, I'm not getting any email back after submitting a design.

Don
I've found the cause of the problem. My ISP (AT&T Worldnet) was filtering the email. I tried my other ISP (broadband) and it worked. Turned of AT&T filtering and it worked.

Don

Posted: Wed Nov 09, 2005 6:51 pm
by Caffeine
sparky wrote:Nope - it's not the design that is the problem. Well, not really.

Your gerber bottom layer is nearly 68000 lines of text. The size script can process the entire thing correctly and in 20-30 seconds. But when you tack on the other layers for checking (smaller, but adds time) the size script takes 45-50 seconds.

The problem is it's an underlying problem. I'll figure out a solution. But at the moment, the size script won't be able to handle more than 4x4" boards if you've got a ground pour.

-Nathan
Hrmmm, I could repour the groundplane in 2004, it might make it easier to handle. The Retry2 board has a large pour too and it didn't seem to cause any problems...

Posted: Tue Nov 15, 2005 11:08 pm
by dakiller
sparky wrote:Nope - it's not the design that is the problem. Well, not really.

Your gerber bottom layer is nearly 68000 lines of text. The size script can process the entire thing correctly and in 20-30 seconds. But when you tack on the other layers for checking (smaller, but adds time) the size script takes 45-50 seconds.

The problem is it's an underlying problem. I'll figure out a solution. But at the moment, the size script won't be able to handle more than 4x4" boards if you've got a ground pour.

-Nathan
It is a friend of mines design, and I've been talking to him and he thinks that he can modify the ground pore so that it might pass. He said he'll try to get something to pass the bot on friday

Posted: Thu Nov 17, 2005 6:43 pm
by Caffeine
I'm getting this error every time I try and submit now:
Zip File Format Selector (Step 2 of 3)

Warning: rename(/home/.sites/133/site55/zips/1132273137/Backup/,/home/.sites/133/site55/zips/1132273137/Backup/) [function.rename]: No such file or directory in /home/.sites/133/site55/web/zipnamer.php on line 616
Error : PCLZIP_ERR_MISSING_FILE (-4) : File '/home/.sites/133/site55/zips/1132273137/Backup/' does not exists

Posted: Fri Nov 18, 2005 12:42 am
by pittuck
ok, i am unable to replicate, but will look into it ASAP

Posted: Tue Nov 22, 2005 2:54 pm
by sparky
Timeout should have been extended to 200 seconds, so if you've got a big board, sit a wait a bit.

The size script is better and better. Let me know if there is a design that is causing problems.

The international mail thing is driving up the wall at the moment. I have no idea what it's doing.

-Nathan

Posted: Thu Nov 24, 2005 2:24 am
by Bryan1
Hiya Guy's,
I just took a look at the BatchPCB website and read thru the FAQ. Now I have sprint-layout 4 as my pcb software and as a trial I exported the gerber and drill files. But on checking the FAQ on extensions my format comes out at gerber .GBR and drill files (excelleron) .DRL which don't come under the supported formats in the FAQ. Can I just re-name the extension to your format or would it come out as mumbo jumbo on your end?. As far as I'm concerned the price is a major factor in me not making my own boards and letting you blokes take care of them as the quality is something I could never produce. Anyway what would the shipping rate to Australia be as I don't want to get stung with a huge postage bill from the US ever again. (last one was US$10 worth of Chips and US$130 in postage). :evil:

Cheers Bryan :D

Posted: Thu Nov 24, 2005 12:31 pm
by Caffeine
Bryan1 wrote:Hiya Guy's,
I just took a look at the BatchPCB website and read thru the FAQ. Now I have sprint-layout 4 as my pcb software and as a trial I exported the gerber and drill files. But on checking the FAQ on extensions my format comes out at gerber .GBR and drill files (excelleron) .DRL which don't come under the supported formats in the FAQ. Can I just re-name the extension to your format or would it come out as mumbo jumbo on your end?. As far as I'm concerned the price is a major factor in me not making my own boards and letting you blokes take care of them as the quality is something I could never produce. Anyway what would the shipping rate to Australia be as I don't want to get stung with a huge postage bill from the US ever again. (last one was US$10 worth of Chips and US$130 in postage). :evil:

Cheers Bryan :D
Hi Bryan,

I've ordered heaps of stuff off Sparkfun before, shipped to sydney, and the postage is usually ~$15ish

The boards are really good quality too. As a comparison, while Sparkfu's PCB service was being redone, I had a board made through another supplier for a similar price to what sparkfun charge. It didn't cme with a silkscreen on the bottom layer, the soldermask was offset slightly making soldering fine pitch stuff a pain, and the soldermask has started to flake off in large sections. This board is 3 days old!

Boards I've had made through sparkfun still look brand new months and months later, and have been a joy to solder, even for the fine pitch stuff

Posted: Thu Nov 24, 2005 12:32 pm
by Caffeine
P.s. I used to live in the adelaide hills, Mt Barker actually, nice place, much quieter and easy going than Sydney that's for sure! 8)

Posted: Thu Nov 24, 2005 2:14 pm
by Caffeine
Unfortunately I'm still getting this error on any moard I try and submit:
Zip File Format Selector (Step 2 of 3)

Warning: rename(/home/.sites/133/site55/zips/1132861578/Backup/,/home/.sites/133/site55/zips/1132861578/Backup/) [function.rename]: No such file or directory in /home/.sites/133/site55/web/zipnamer.php on line 617
Error : PCLZIP_ERR_MISSING_FILE (-4) : File '/home/.sites/133/site55/zips/1132861578/Backup/' does not exists

Posted: Thu Nov 24, 2005 6:19 pm
by Bryan1
Caffeine wrote:P.s. I used to live in the adelaide hills, Mt Barker actually, nice place, much quieter and easy going than Sydney that's for sure! 8)
Hiya Caffeine,
Well mate Mt Barker is becomming more like an Adelaide suburb everyday but I'm out a Kanmantoo and I own an 85 acre farm, run solar and wind gennies for power and rely on rainfall for water. Although we are in the Mt Barker council area we don't get any services off them what so ever :evil: I mean even the road to my place is little more than a goat track with an open speed limit and after a decent rain it's almost un drivable. But it's heaven over here.

Cheers Bryan :D