PCB CNC machine

Questions about the BatchPCB service

Moderators: phalanx, robacarp

rf333
Posts: 26
Joined: Tue Feb 24, 2009 10:20 am

Post by rf333 » Mon Apr 13, 2009 5:18 am

NleahciM wrote:... The board you posted a photo of has a number of vias on the thermal slut of a QFN. How do you plan on soldering those?

Additionally, what's the cone shaped piece of copper on the PCB for? I must admit my ignorance in the RF field.
Yea, I ran this board just to test the machine. It is a demo from Atmel. http://www.atmel.com/dyn/products/produ ... rt_id=3413
The existence of many holes (more accurately 356 and 300 of them 12 mils) and 4 to 8 mils traces attract me to se how the machine will perform. And it is time saver to run ready made projects :).
In our future projects we will look for designs that are easier to prototype (in many cases this is helpful in mass production).
The cone shaped feature is an antenna.

User avatar
leon_heller
Support Volunteer
Posts: 5734
Joined: Sun May 01, 2005 11:20 am
Location: St. Leonards-on-Sea, E. Sussex, UK.

Post by leon_heller » Mon Apr 13, 2009 5:24 am

I can't see the point of CNC for making PCBs. I can make a PCB in about 20 minutes (plus drilling) at home using the photo etch process. 8/8 mil design rules aren't a problem although I usually use 10/10. I can get down to 5 mil tracks if necessary.

The equipment cost me under $100.

Leon
Leon Heller
G1HSM

funnynypd
Posts: 162
Joined: Sat Apr 03, 2004 6:58 pm
Location: USA and Canada
Contact:

Post by funnynypd » Mon Apr 13, 2009 5:46 am

if you are playing only with single side, it is fine for both.
However, if you like high quality two layer or multiple layer PCB, and you can wait, a PCB house may turn out good quality boards at a relatively low cost.

funnynypd
Posts: 162
Joined: Sat Apr 03, 2004 6:58 pm
Location: USA and Canada
Contact:

Post by funnynypd » Mon Apr 13, 2009 5:48 am

It is amazing my HP printer only use single layer PCB, and there are lots of high-tech jumpers which doesn't seems cheap.

Don't understand why they only use one layer PCB.

User avatar
leon_heller
Support Volunteer
Posts: 5734
Joined: Sun May 01, 2005 11:20 am
Location: St. Leonards-on-Sea, E. Sussex, UK.

Post by leon_heller » Mon Apr 13, 2009 6:31 am

It obviously worked out cheaper for mass-production.

Leon
Leon Heller
G1HSM

Philba
Support Volunteer
Posts: 2503
Joined: Sun Feb 13, 2005 11:33 pm
Location: Seattle

Post by Philba » Mon Apr 13, 2009 8:43 am

Double sided is pretty easy to make via any in-home wet chemistry. Yes, it takes a little experimenting to get the process right but anything has a learning curve.

funnynypd
Posts: 162
Joined: Sat Apr 03, 2004 6:58 pm
Location: USA and Canada
Contact:

Post by funnynypd » Mon Apr 13, 2009 8:58 am

Is there a standard through-hole plating kit available?

rf333
Posts: 26
Joined: Tue Feb 24, 2009 10:20 am

Post by rf333 » Wed Apr 15, 2009 4:45 am


Philba
Support Volunteer
Posts: 2503
Joined: Sun Feb 13, 2005 11:33 pm
Location: Seattle

Post by Philba » Wed Apr 15, 2009 7:46 am

I don't waste my time with plating holes. It's not really worth the effort. You can use wire to connect the two sides of a via. If you think about the lack of PTH during your design you can compensate. To pass a signal from one side to the other either use a via or a pin that is exposed for soldering on both sides. It does force you to design your board a little differently but in the end it's not much extra effort at all.

alnx
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Apr 17, 2009 2:04 pm

Post by alnx » Fri Apr 17, 2009 2:32 pm

Dear rf333
i'm asking about the Professional vacuum system what is this for ?
and is the machine noisy i mean i can put it in the office

thanks in advance

rf333
Posts: 26
Joined: Tue Feb 24, 2009 10:20 am

Post by rf333 » Sat Apr 18, 2009 8:19 am

alnx wrote:Dear rf333
i'm asking about the Professional vacuum system what is this for ?
and is the machine noisy i mean i can put it in the office

thanks in advance
Actually the noise comes from the vacuum, that collect debris from machining. The professional vacuum is very quiet and according to Accurate has a submicron filter. I am running it in my office. The noise is comparable to a dot matrix printer :D

funnynypd
Posts: 162
Joined: Sat Apr 03, 2004 6:58 pm
Location: USA and Canada
Contact:

Post by funnynypd » Sat Apr 18, 2009 9:16 am

wow, that's an excellent job on noise damping.

marianmp
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Mar 03, 2009 11:25 pm

Post by marianmp » Tue Jun 23, 2009 8:31 am

My vacuum is outside the office in a small storage room, so I don't have any noise or dust problems :)

wormsmith
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Jul 15, 2009 1:24 pm

Second Hand PCB CNC

Post by wormsmith » Wed Jul 15, 2009 1:31 pm

I almost have the boss talked into a PCB CNC/milling machine at work. We really need it! Is there any good place to find a listing of second hand machines from LPKF, Accurate CNC or T-tech? Trying to keep cost down but also looking to get auto tool changing, vacuum table, enclosed, 8 mil and camera if possible. Two layers will need to be done on the machine. Please send any recommendations, previous experiences etc. Thanks for any help.

User avatar
leon_heller
Support Volunteer
Posts: 5734
Joined: Sun May 01, 2005 11:20 am
Location: St. Leonards-on-Sea, E. Sussex, UK.

Post by leon_heller » Wed Jul 15, 2009 1:47 pm

LPKF themselves often have used machines for sale. They offered me one when I was chatting to them at the recent Electronics Week show in London.

Leon
Leon Heller
G1HSM

Locked