SparkFun Forums 

Where electronics enthusiasts find answers.

General suggestions or questions about the SparkFun Electronics website
By halcyon
Hi all... I've got a few questions that I was hoping to get some feedback on.

First off, I'm a programmer by trade. I have extensive experience with higher level languages such as C, C++, Java and some prior exposure to Assembly and BASIC (for embedded systems). I've worked with a PIC16F877 chipset in the past, for fun, but only briefly before other priorities took precedence (as they always do). I have some minor experience with analog and digital circuits from college. Well, unpacking boxes I came across my equipment and my interest took root again and I've been refreshing.

I've been toying with a project I'd like to play with and started looking around at what I'd need to make it happen. I'm sure I could use my existing PIC16F877 to accomplish it, but I have a few implementation hurdles to address. Since I first got my PIC, I've become a Mac user at home. No serial port. I know I can use a USB-to-serial adapter, but I'd like my project to actually use the USB port as-is to communicate with my project (ethernet would also work, but the components I've looked up are pretty low-level). I'd like to also play with wireless communication. Additionally, it'd be great to also interface with a display of some sort... scrolling LED or LCD... I'm somewhat indifferent (although the LED would probably be easier to implement).

My research has shown me a variety of programmers that run in-chip and are programmed in either BASIC or C, although my comfort level is greater with C than BASIC. Some programmers have built-in wifi others have modules to support it. Most are Windows-only and a few have Mac ports.