SparkFun Forums 

Where electronics enthusiasts find answers.

Have questions about a SparkFun product or board? This is the place to be.
By kirkzeus
Hi all

I am a complete novice when it comes to PICs. Some years ago I had some experience in electronics and am now heavily into computers and simple programming.

I am looking to dip my toes into the world of PICs and know very little about them. I want to be able to use a PIC over an ethernet connection and run on it a small web server and ideally FTP. In addition I want it to have some digital and analogue input/outputs so that I can typically monitor simple sensors such as temperature and also to control relays, with the results/control to be done via its web page.

The final desire of mine is for ALL programming to be done via the ethernet connection. Is there such a device out there? From what I can gather, programming has to be done via a separate serial port which I really don't want to do as the PIC will be in a remote location.

Any feedback/advice would be much appreciated - I live in the UK.

Many thanks.
By Shifted
The biggest thing with running an FTP and HTTP server on it will be memory. If you want the ability to upload/download files you will need to have a decent sized storage medium available. You will also need enough RAM to run the FTP, HTTP, and TCP/IP stacks. I'm mostly an ARM guy myself, I'm not sure if there are any PIC's that fit the bill.

You do have a couple options though, somebody makes an ethernet interface module complete with HTTP and FTP server in DIP package form. The memory is however limited. As far as programming over ethernet, it is very possible, but will require you to write a custom bootloader that listens for a programming signal on the ethernet port before switching control to the main() function in your program. Its less of a device feature and more of a software one, as long as the chip supports ethernet.
By brennen