SparkFun Forums 

Where electronics enthusiasts find answers.

Have questions about a SparkFun product or board? This is the place to be.
By DoranC
I purchased an XBee Starter Kit (XBee Series 1) and have performed all the assembly steps. I also have a current version of XCTU to connect the XBees. I have one XBee set on the Explorer and the other on the shield and on a Sparkfun RedBoard (I have also tried and Arduino UNO). The XBee on the Explorer is discovered every time but the one on the RedBoard (or Uno) is not detected. I have swapped the XBee modules and get the same result and also in the recovery mode, I have also confirmed the COM ports to be correct. Is it possible the Shield is bad? (unlikely) I am totally new to XBee and a novice at Arduino. I am at a loss as to what to do next. Any advice that can be provided will be greatly appreciated. Thank you.
By Valen
You need to provide the configuration register settings of both devices. Part of the 1̶0̶0̶+̶ ̶p̶a̶g̶e̶ 70+ page manual/datasheet explains which settings are required.
By DoranC
Valen,

I have reviewed the 70+- page manual and configured both devices as I felt appropriate and still found one xbee unable to be discovered/recovered while on the Arduino and shield. I have included the configuration settings for your review. I want to say I truly appreciate your assistance. I would be totally lost without it.
Thank you again,
Doran

Host Remote
CH C C
ID 7616 7616
DH 0 0
DL 1 2
MY 2 1
SH 13A200 13A200
SL 416AE008 416ADE63
MM 0 0
RR 0 0
RN 0 0
NT 19 19
NO 0 0
CE (0) End Device (0) End Device
SC 1FFE 1FFE
SD 4 4
A1 0 0
A2 0 0
AI 0 0
EE 0 0
KY blank blank
NI blank blank
PL 4 4
CA 2C 2C
SM (0) No Sleep (0) No Sleep
ST 1388 1388
SP 0 0
DP 3E8 3E8
SO 0 0
BD 3 3
NB 0 0
RO 3 3
AP 0 0
D8 0 0
D7 1 1
D6 0 0
D5 1 1
D4 0 0
D3 0 0
D2 0 0
D1 0 0
D0 0 0
PR FF FF
IU 1 1
IT 1 1
IC 0 0
IR 0 0
P0 2 2
P1 2 2
PT FF FF
RP 28 28
IA FFFFFFFFFFFFFFFF FFFFFFFFFFFFFFFF
T0 FF FF
T1 FF FF
T2 FF FF
T3 FF FF
T4 FF FF
T5 FF FF
T6 FF FF