SparkFun Forums 

Where electronics enthusiasts find answers.

Have questions about a SparkFun product or board? This is the place to be.
By trevorwright0
Thanks for any help.

I've used Picaxe lots in the past, but I'm far from an expert. I was able to connect and program my Picaxe yesterday no problem. I reinstalled my OS today and Linaxepad gives me this error: Download for PICAXE-08M2 on /dev/ttyS0 Failed Error: Can't open port /dev/ttryS0. (err=5: input/output error).

I'm using Debian/Linux with the LXDE desktop environtment.
By trevorwright0
FYI:

I am using the same OS and same Picaxe.

I checked dmesg and it is detecting the Picaxe027 cable.

I have tried all of the port options within Linaxepad.

Thanks again for any help.
By paulvha
Trying to help.... When installing new software, it is common that some of the old parameters/setting are overwritten or removed and some new ones added. Can you tell a bit more about your environment and hardware?
I see you are using dmesg, which I normally use for USB. The port /dev/ttyS0 is normaly a serial port. Maybe there is an issue if the connection is USB. Then use the USB port (like /dev/ttyUSB0 or whatever naming the debian version is using) Can you check that in view, option and then port in Linaxepad?
If it is really serial: check there is no other program already using that port (e.g. sgetty is a often set to allow a user to login with a serial terminal)
Paul
By trevorwright0
Thanks for the help.

Here is the output from dmesg after connecting the cable:

[ 741.385455] usb 2-1.2: new full-speed USB device number 4 using ehci-pci
[ 741.500734] usb 2-1.2: New USB device found, idVendor=0403, idProduct=bd90
[ 741.500740] usb 2-1.2: New USB device strings: Mfr=1, Product=2, SerialNumber=0
[ 741.500743] usb 2-1.2: Product: AXE027 PICAXE USB
[ 741.500746] usb 2-1.2: Manufacturer: Revolution

When I switch to /dev/ttyUSBx the error changed to:

(err=2: No such file or directory)