how to connect 4 wire load cell to load cell combinator

Have questions about a SparkFun product or board? This is the place to be.

Moderators: phalanx, TS-Tim

Post Reply
junke715
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Nov 28, 2017 9:03 am

how to connect 4 wire load cell to load cell combinator

Post by junke715 » Tue Nov 28, 2017 9:06 am

i purchased 4-wires load cell, as well as the load cell combinator. but the combinator is for 3-wires load cell, i wonder if there is any way that i can connect them and get correct readings?
help is needed!!
thanks in advance

DanV
Posts: 294
Joined: Sat Apr 25, 2015 9:29 am

Re: how to connect 4 wire load cell to load cell combinator

Post by DanV » Tue Nov 28, 2017 1:48 pm

The combinatory is clearly for connecting 4 load cells (or half load cells) together and then to an amplifier.
What you appear to need to connect your 4-wire load cell is just an amplifier HX711:
https://learn.sparkfun.com/tutorials/lo ... okup-guide

junke715
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Nov 28, 2017 9:03 am

Re: how to connect 4 wire load cell to load cell combinator

Post by junke715 » Wed Nov 29, 2017 5:17 pm

but i have four load cells, so i dont need combinator?

DanV
Posts: 294
Joined: Sat Apr 25, 2015 9:29 am

Re: how to connect 4 wire load cell to load cell combinator

Post by DanV » Thu Nov 30, 2017 8:13 am

Well, that's not exactly what you said:
i purchased 4-wires load cell
which sounds to me like a single 4-wire load cell.

The combinator takes four 3-wire load sensors and connects them as a wheatstone bridge, then the combinator connects to the amplifier.

The load cell (4-wire device) is already a wheatstone bridge designed to be connected to an amplifier.

Unfortunately, I can find no information on connecting a 4-wire load cell as a 3-wire load sensor.
I suppose you could use a multimeter to find the variable leg of the load cell and its neighbor resistor and use it like a 3-wire but I can't confirm this.

Post Reply