SparkFun Forums 

Where electronics enthusiasts find answers.

Have questions about a SparkFun product or board? This is the place to be.
By Midimanz
I am having difficulty in understanding the use of digital pins in an arrangement based on a SparkFun RedBoard and SparkFun CAN-Bus shield. I am trying to develop a trap which will detect a particular CAN message ID with FF as the hex data at byte 4 and turn on an LED.

I am a complete newbie with Arduino and developing software for this environment and I don't know whether my coding is poor or I am being "caught" by a feature of the digital pins which I am failing to understand.

I have some code which works at detecting message ID 2DE with FF as data at the 4th byte and using an LED on pin 13 with the following code:

/****************************************************************************
Used for development of Nissan EPAS for Fraser deJoux
*************************************************************************/

#include <Canbus.h>
#include <defaults.h>
#include <global.h>
#include <mcp2515.h>
#include <mcp2515_defs.h>
const int ledPin = 13; //Led connected to pin 13

//********************************Setup Loop*********************************//

void setup() {
Serial.begin(9600); // For debug use
Serial.println("CAN Read - Testing receipt of CAN Bus message");
delay(1000);

pinMode(ledPin, OUTPUT); //Set digital pin 13 to OUTPUT

if(Canbus.init(CANSPEED_500)) //Initialise MCP2515 CAN controller at 500K
Serial.println("CAN Init ok");
else
Serial.println("Can't init CAN");

delay(1000);
}

//********************************Main Loop*********************************//

void loop(){

tCAN message;
if (mcp2515_check_message())
{
if (mcp2515_get_message(&message))
{
if(message.id == 0x2DE and message.data[4] == 0xFF) //Test for PID 2DE with data FF in the 4th byte
{
Serial.println("Error detected");
digitalWrite(ledPin, HIGH); //Set LED on
}
else
{
digitalWrite(ledPin, LOW); //Set LED off
}
}

}
}