SparkFun Forums 

Where electronics enthusiasts find answers.

Have questions about a SparkFun product or board? This is the place to be.
By antennaboy
Hello,

I am new to microcontrollers and saw that there are so many different types. I am familiar with the Arduino family of microcontrollers but I also noticed that there are other types on the sparkfun website, like the picaxe microcontroller.

What is the difference between an Arduino and something like the picaxe? Do they work the same way? Is the picaxe easy to use?
Do we simply need to program them by connecting them with to an external computer?
What language do they use and do I need to download a special software to be able to program them?

I would like to build a rocket an place sensors on it (altimeter and other sensors). What steps would I follow? Do I need to have a microcontroller onboard connected to sensors and the sensors output would get recorded in the microcontroller memory? I guess I would need a very small and light microcontroller to place it on the rocket...

Thanks for any insight,
Antennaboy
By BEST2V3
Hi antennaboy

1. The difference between the Arduino and the Picaxe is as follows: The Arduino ~$20, 16 MHz clock, 32K bit memory, that you are familiar with, uses “C” or “C++” to program. It is good but it is a credit card size unit.

The Picaxe 14M2 for example, ~$4, is a 14 pin DIP that is about 1/4 inch wide by 3/4 inch long. The clock speed in the Picaxe can be set to as high as 32 MHz but how much speed do you need?

2. Each micro controller works the same way but the languages are different and the set-up is different.

3. Once you have the Picaxe USB programming cable, Sparkfun Pn PGM-08312, have soldered in the 3.5 mm Audio Jack, Sparkfun PN PRT-08032, have installed your 5 volt power supply and have downloaded the operating system found on the PICAXE download page, the Picaxe is much easier to program and use than the Arduino.