SparkFun Forums 

Where electronics enthusiasts find answers.

Have questions about a SparkFun product or board? This is the place to be.
By adamjvr
Hi, I have an ESP8266-Thing that I bought as a nifty dev board for the ESP chip. After adding headers the first thing I've been trying to do is to test program it with an example sketch with the Arduino IDE. I made sure I had the board support properly installed and setup by test programming several ESP-01 modules and a ESP-12E module breakout all successfully. For some reason I cannot get the ESP8266-Thing to program, the IDE attempts to load the compiled file, I found this by looking at the UART signals going from my FTDI breakout to the ESP8266-Thing with my logic analyzer. It appears the ESP chip is not responding to the programming routine, since I am new to this chip I'm not sure what that means. I hope I didn't get one with a dud IC.
By Valen
Did you read the hookup guide? And connected the 2 gpio pins of it to either vcc or ground to enter bootloader mode? (I forgot which way it has to be for each ... it's in the guide)
By adamjvr
Valen wrote:Did you read the hookup guide? And connected the 2 gpio pins of it to either vcc or ground to enter bootloader mode? (I forgot which way it has to be for each ... it's in the guide)
I did follow the hookup guide, I am using an FTDI breakout like they have in the guide, the DTR pin is tied to a pullup circuit on the thing which pulls the GPIO0 pin low for programming, this is supposed to be triggered by the DTR signal. IDK what else I can try.
By Valen
Is it the exact same FTDI breakout? There is a 3.3 volt version and a 5 volt version. The Thing product page specifically mentions the 3.3 volt is required. [EDIT] In hindsight it should not matter which version you have. It's 3.3 volt on the RX/TX/DTR pins anyway. Only the voltage on the power output is either 3.3volt or 5 volt, and it's not connected through on the Thing board.