SparkFun Forums 

Where electronics enthusiasts find answers.

Have questions about a SparkFun product or board? This is the place to be.
By lost_student
Hi guys I'm a 1st year student learning about microcontrollers and i'm stuck with a project . Could you give me some directions and opinions? Like the title stated my project is 'Intergrating board camera to microcontroller and LCD'

Currently my project layout is like this

B/W Board Camera
||
||
PIC 18F452 MicroController <---> External Memory
||
||
LCD Screen

Currently we are trying to get our concepts right by using a b/w board camera connected to a PIC18F452 chip.

PIC18F452 datasheet :
http://ww1.microchip.com/downloads/en/D ... 39564b.pdf

Problems faced Currently:
==================
The problem faced is how do I get the microcontroller to recognize the camera digital signals which comprises of 1s and 0s when a picture is taken? I have put my D+ and D- camera ouputs into my microcontroller inuts (PORTA).

Should I get a LCD with a intergrated memory or should I get another microcontroller that supports external memory?
By busonerd
hmm... I really couldn't tell you anything more without a camera datasheet.

D+/D- sound like a differential pair, USB is ususally named that way... If it is indeed a differential pair, it could be clocking too fast for your micro to follow.

Anyhow - I can't give you an answer that has any high chance of accuracy without the datasheet.

Cheers,

--David Carne
By busonerd
Ok, that camera spits out an analog signal! - Second, are you sure there's a D+/-? looks to me like its just a single analog line out. You'll need something to turn the analog NTSC signal the camera spits out into something the microcontroller can understand - and I don't think the microcontroller ADC can sample fast enough.

I suggest you talk to your TA / Prof re this, because with the parts you have in hand right now, I do not think its doable.

Cheers,

--David Carne
By lost_student