SparkFun Forums 

Where electronics enthusiasts find answers.

Have questions about a SparkFun product or board? This is the place to be.
By snifagoose
Hello,
I am attempting a DIY project that will be requiring a small amount of sparky goodness and micro-controlling. The aim for this project is to be low cost, and because of this I am trying to use some existing equipment that I already have to work around. Without getting too involved with the gruesome details of the project, in a nutshell I am trying to control a low rpm high torque 115VDC motor, keyed by the nifty PIR motion sensor.

Here is the breakdown of my design challenges. (Keep in mind that I am doing this project for the challenge, and that I am very new to the micro controller sparkfun world)

1: I am trying to select the right micro controller, I have looked into the Arduino R3, the Wixel, and the Arduino mini. From what I gather, the Wixel has some very user friendly programmer apps that I can use that will make the programming less of a headache. However, I am intrigued by the coding aspect of the project and would love to sit down and write the code for an Arduino just to learn a tid bit about writing code. (I have very basic C++ training)

2: Given the 115VDC motor that I am using that is almost perfect for the application, I am struggling to find a way to integrate such a high voltage motor into my controller circuit. I have contemplated using the H-Bridge Driver - NJM2670E3 in order to drive the motor at around 55-60VDC, given that I am not worried too much about the speed of my motor. Any thoughts on a similar style, cheap driver, that will allow me to use the full 115V of my motor? If not, would the above mentioned H-Bridge driver be suitable to drive my motor forward and backward using one of the micro controllers from my selection?