SparkFun Forums 

Where electronics enthusiasts find answers.

Have questions about a SparkFun product or board? This is the place to be.
By kevinlongisland
The output will be connected to an arduino. I need to accurately measure force in the 10 to 100 pound range. I'm really new to this so I'm not sure if I need a buffer or not. What is the purpose of the buffer?

Thanks for your help.
By MichaelN
Mee_n_Mac wrote:The circuit you've linked to makes no sense to me. It's an inverting op-amp which means, with a 5v unipolar supply, the input voltage needs to be negative to work.
Note the -1V supply connected to the flex sensor - that's what allows this to work. If a negative supply voltage isn't available, there are other arrangements that could be used. For example, you could create a "virtual ground" on the op-amp [EDIT] POSITIVE input using a resistor divider. This would allow the negative side of the sensor to connect to ground instead of requiring a negative supply.
Last edited by MichaelN on Thu Mar 21, 2013 8:07 pm, edited 2 times in total.
By Mee_n_Mac
The buffer amp is often needed because the flex sensor, in combo with a fixed resistor to make a voltage divider, will have a high and variable output resistance. This will affect the voltage when connected to something with about the same input resistance. The buffer has a very high input resistance and so isn't affected and has a low output resistance so the device it's connected to can have pretty much any input resistance.