SparkFun Forums 

Where electronics enthusiasts find answers.

Have questions about a SparkFun product or board? This is the place to be.
By snifagoose
Hello, I am a complete noob to this Sparky fun stuff, but have been trying to figure out how to make a motion activated video recorder for my outdoor dog pen. I would like the camera (MCOS IR Camera Module) to begin recording when motion is detected using the PIR Motion sensor. The goal is to have the relatively compact system record video straight onto an external hard drive that can be easily transferred to a computer for later viewing.

The main questions that I have are:
1: Can I format the external hard drive (USB) to use a linux camera driver to record the video ouput?
2: What micro controller should I choose for a system as simple as this? (or perhaps a controller that could handle the integration of a second indoor camera at some point)
3: With the output RCA signal, do I need to have the system connected to an LCD screen, or can I save the video directly to the hard drive?

Like I mentioned earlier I am very new to this, so any and all input will be greatly appreciated. Thanks!
By MichaelN
Do you want to do this for the challenge, or do you just want a functional system? If it’s the latter, I’d suggest a pre-built system, including cameras(s) and HDD recording box. They are available very cheap (even Ebay can be OK), and you probably won’t need the PIR motion sensor. These days the recording boxes can decide when to record based on changes to the video picture, and you can even configure which areas to monitor for changes and which to ignore. They can easily be monitored remotely via web browser or mobile ap.
By CircuitBurner
A lot depends on how much you want to spend to get whatever features in the end product you may want.