SparkFun Forums 

Where electronics enthusiasts find answers.

Have questions about a SparkFun product or board? This is the place to be.
By Grimm Spector
Ok, I have a 2Ah Li Poly from SFE and the Batt-CG-MAX1555

because I'm prototyping an idea out, and I want to give the battery some test charges and attach a load later with the charging system.

now normally I would want to attach my negative lead to the 'BAT' terminal on the MAX1555 board, and run my positive to the tail end of my load system and the input of my load system to SYS, completing the circuit and allowing a charge while the electronics are on...

however and excuse my newness, I am not that experienced currently, but this will not allow me to charge my battery while it's in the circuit if the circuit is shut off, so what am I missing?

I don't want to smoke the hardware, which is what I'm fairly certain will happen if I try to use the GND terminal near BAT because I assume all the grounds are common on the interior layer and I'll then have no load and the battery will short.

Hopefully someone can give me a nudge to the proper solution, something I should know but am apparently missing, thanks for your time everyone.
By Grimm Spector
could really use some help, think I need more sleep to figure this out, I've never done an application using a battery source where I charge it, only disposable cells, so I'm at a loss for what I'm missing, and lack the extras to experiement freely.
By riden