SparkFun Forums 

Where electronics enthusiasts find answers.

Have questions about a SparkFun product or board? This is the place to be.
By patternleaf
Hi all -

I have an installation project which will require the real-time control of many (let's say 50 at worst) small lights (probably LEDs) from a computer. It needs to be a computer because I'll be using a kinect to detect presence, etc. I'm a software engineer and will have no problem with the software side of things, but I'm pretty clueless about hardware, and what's possible or best.

In my dream world, a USB device would exist that would have 50 addressable outputs and I would run wires from this to each LED. Done!

Oh, also, of course, budget is pretty limited. I already have access to a few arduinos, but I'm not sure that they will help me that much. (Since I'll have a laptop which will be driving the installation's interactivity, it won't be desirable to program the arduinos ahead of time—all the programming will be on the laptop.)

Any suggestions appreciated!

Eric
By Philba
This is pretty easy to do. A lot depends on how you want to arrange the LEDs. There are strips of LEDs (at SFE and other places) that have individually addressable lights an inch or so apart. They can be controlled by a small number of wires (typically 4). Use a USB Arduino (like the micro, for example) and a power supply to feed the strip. Lots of info how they go together and the programming (in C++) is going to be a cakewalk. The USB arduino can look like a simple com port or you can do something sophisticated like an HID device. In the simple case you create a command structure that indicates light number and illumination level.

If you can't use the strips, it gets more complicated and is fairly dependent on what you want to do but almost anything is achievable without a BSEE.
By patternleaf