SparkFun Forums 

Where electronics enthusiasts find answers.

Have questions about a SparkFun product or board? This is the place to be.
By djarmyssg
Hey guys, Well im running into some serious problems with my OBD project... Now I am really new at all this, but I like to think im a pretty fast learner. Heres my setup, Arduino Uno, connected to Sparkfun OBD to UART shield,(Tx,Rx, and ground), non serial LCD wired as in MPguino. programming code is OBDuino32K with ELM uncommented, and ISO commented. I can get everything to compile fine, upload fine (have to disconnect tx,rx) but no matter what I do I cant get any information BACK from the shield... Let alone the ECU. I've tried Hyperterminal, Tera Tel, and EZOBD, and no matter what commands I throw, I dont get ANYTHING back... Here are some pictures of my setup.... PLEASE HELP!!!!

Shield is wired like this..... LCD isnt wired like this.

Let me know any ideas will be appreciated!
By djarmyssg
Mee_n_mac,

Heres a ink to the code Im using, But, Im beginning to think its not the coding due to the fact that I cant seen to connect to the Shield through Hyperterminal even when im not connected to the car.... I should get SOME kind of responce right? Or do I have to "CALL" for the response to be printede in hyperterminal??

http://code.google.com/p/opengauge/sour ... ino32K.pde
By Mee_n_Mac
A very quick glance at the code shows a lot of "prints" but they're all conditional on something happening (or not) from the OBDII board. I don't see s simple "I'm alive and connected" print. And perhaps I'm missing something but how are you getting the Uno to talk to it's serial/USB converter and the OBDII board at the same time ? You seem to have the shared Tx and Rx lines going to both at the same time. Is it your thinking that you should be able to see the messages going from the Uno to the OBDII via the USB/serial monitor ?
By rocketboy07