SparkFun Forums 

Where electronics enthusiasts find answers.

Have questions about a SparkFun product or board? This is the place to be.
By sport100
I have just received a serial accelerometer from sparkfun and I am trying to understand how it works.

I have the serial connection connected to a serial gender changer, and the gender changer connected to a cable which goes into the DB25 serial port on my computer.

I have never worked with Hyperterminal before so I am not sure if I am using it correctly.

After I open a new connection, the "Connect To" screen opens and my only choices are "sofware modem", com3, and, tcp/ip. I always choose com3 but I can never get a response from the accelerometer.

I have two serial ports on my computer. How can I tell which port is Com1, Com2, or Com3? Will the accelerometer work with the setup I am using through the DB25 pin serial port? If I used a serial to USB connector, would this solve my problems?

Thank you in advance.
By Kuroi Kenjin
25-pin DB!?! How old is this computer? And which windows is it running? I haven't seen a computer with a 25-pin DB since I was too young to remember (I think they went out in the late 80's??). Also, are you on a laptop?

A USB-Serial Converter would add another serial port to your computer. I dunno if that would solve the problem, but would side step it. That's odd the COM1 and COM2 aren't showing up. Check you device manager (Under XP, in system, hardware tab... check the ports).
By Philba
first off, verify which port you are using. on the non-PC end of the cable, jumper pin2 to pin3. then in hyperterminal, everything you type should be echoed. if not, you have opend the wrong port.
By daemondust
Are you sure you haven't connected to a parallel printer port?
By riden