SparkFun Forums 

Where electronics enthusiasts find answers.

Have questions about a SparkFun product or board? This is the place to be.
Hi guys,

I’m a graduate student in electronics. Throughout my school years I have never made my hands dirty with any project(everything was merely theory). Right now, I feel that my understanding of embedded systems is very low and i'm ashamed of myself in front of people specially my husband. I would like to do a project (preferably in Comm.) that has software/hardware assignments. But I don’t know where to look for. I don’t know if I should buy a KIT or a development board and where and which. I just read something in Wikipedia in regard to DIY and sparkfun & Arduino boards and came across your forum.
I looked at DIY projects, but some of them are just schematics, and don’t mention where to buy each discrete element (e.x. Resistor 45 ohm from EBAY?).then in sparkfun i saw different products but if i buy any of them where are the instructions what to do with?

1-Could you please guide me what should I buy to begin my first project at home (just have a pc)?
2-Is there any book/ on-line project that goes from hardware (FPGA or any board for example) to software (developing a driver) that I can follow to earn practical skills and knowledge?

3-Is there any website or a magazine or a forum which tells you what to buy and then accompany you through the whole project?

I have a vague idea, but look for a board that needs some basic programming. Thanks for your recommendations :)

Regarding my skills:
C programming, ARM, a bit VERILOG
mitra,

Welcome!

If you are looking for a structured introduction to embedded systems, I suggest you consider the SparkFun Inventor's Kit, which contains parts and instructions for a dozen circuits, as well as breadboard on which to assemble things, so you don't need to start soldering yet.