SparkFun Forums 

Where electronics enthusiasts find answers.

Have questions about a SparkFun product or board? This is the place to be.
By cmchristian
I am creating an interface to a 3D modeling program that allows the user to control the model camera location based on their physical position (actually the position of the device they are holding). The X,Y,Z location has been solved but I need to create an interface that allows control of the roll, pitch, and yaw. I am a decent programmer but I am very new to hardware and hardware interface.

What I need is a three axis gyro that will hook-up to a USB port. The gyro needs to be able to send data on the roll pitch and yaw quickly and get power from the USB. For reasons I am not going to mention, I need to be able to access the data through C# on a windows based platform (no android or windows mobile).

The question I have since I am new is what sparkfun parts should I assemble to make this work? My hope is to get the hardware setup with the help of the forum and then hash out the programming side on my own. From what I gather I could use the L3G4200D with the FT232RL and use the code provided to get started but I don't know if that's true. Am I missing something? Is there a better setup? Is that more than I need? Any help would be greatly appreciated.
By leon_heller
The FT232RL will need a suitable MCU, interfaced to the accelerometer. Here is a simple project of mine that implements a USB interface in a single PIC18F2455:

http://www.leonheller.com/usb/

It should be quite easy to use C# program with my hardware.
By cmchristian
So are you saying your hardware would work instead of the FT232RL or would it work in conjunction with it?
By Mee_n_Mac