SparkFun Forums 

Where electronics enthusiasts find answers.

Have questions about a SparkFun product or board? This is the place to be.
By Legal Concepts
Check this Topic out, this was my original plans:
http://www.howardforums.com/showthread. ... ost6897495
I was going to hack and cut wires and do some MAJOR modding.

Now I got many questions about the GM862 Cellular Module.
Reading on the product description all you need to do is install a Sim card from cingular wireless, and use AT commands and you can make phone calls, so I got a few Questions:

I'm not familar with PIC programing, I do however have a BASIC stamp 2, and I'm just learning the BASIC programming language, can the BASIC stamp 2 be programed to use a Dial pad and send AT commands to the module?

How would you program the GM862 to RECEIVE calls?

On the antenna, I live in a fringe area, and would like to use the Wilson Cellular Trucker Antenna with the 3-watt cellular amplifier, the Trucker antenna is dual band antenna, and wondering would this cause problems with the GM862 module?
http://www.alternativewireless.com/cell ... n-antennas

I'm new here and got lots of questions, but the GM862 to use as a alternate cell phone really looks promising! :D
By DynamoBen
You can use the GM862 and a basic stamp. There is nothing in the stamp that would stop you from doing this.

That being said you may want to read through and understand the rotary phone project. http://www.sparkfun.com/tutorial/Port-O ... rotary.htm

It sounds to me like you want to do a similar thing but with a standard touch tone phone or old-style bag phone. This could be a pretty daunting and expensive project.

You may be better off with an off the shelf pre-paid phone and an external antenna. This might be a case where its "too much work for too little effect." Just a thought.
By SOI_Sentinel