SparkFun Forums 

Where electronics enthusiasts find answers.

Have questions about a SparkFun product or board? This is the place to be.
By BudgetEngineer
(I am new to the SparkFun forum, this is my first post)

I was planning for my High Altitude Balloon Project that I hope to launch this coming summer and got stuck on how to communicate with the payload when it would be 20 miles up.

I read about HAM radios setup with a cool device called a TinyTrak, which converts GPS data into a signal that can be sent over the radio, but didn't want to get a license for this one project, or spend money on equipment that wouldn't be used all that often.

Further research revealed some groups had used a smartphone that would upload its position to a website, but cell coverage is non-existent or spotty in rural areas and at high altitudes.

Also, 900 Mhz radios like the one found here (http://www.sparkfun.com/products/9411)could be used, but they are very expensive.

A proverbial LED lit in my mind one evening and I thought:

Why can't I just use a two-way radio and to act as a transciever? I could send information bit by bit from the payload, even send commands from the chase vehicle to request info. They make some 40-50 mile radios don't they?

After some research, this proved to be a very affordable option. The problem, and the reason for my posting, is that there are several unknowns I hope the more experienced members can assist me with.

The information I will be transmitting is GPS coordinates, sensor data, battery life, and other numerical data.

For starters, would I be able to get good reception, transmitting from the upper atmosphere, and on the ground? Do clouds have affect the signal? The launch site is set to be smack in the middle of Kansas, so there will be flat fields for miles around.