SparkFun Forums 

Where electronics enthusiasts find answers.

Have questions about a SparkFun product or board? This is the place to be.
By hahanoob
I have an Arduino Uno and I just got a WiFly GSX Breakout. I'm new to this so I'd like to verify I'm not going to destroy anything while trying to connect them.

Looking at the reference guide (http://www.sparkfun.com/datasheets/Wire ... SX-um2.pdf) it says I should connect 3.3v to both VDD-BATT and V3.3IN. So I think I'll run 3.3V from the Arduino to VDD-IN in on the breakout and then use any digital pin on the arduino (set to output, and high) to connect to VBATT. Good so far? No fire?

It looks like the only other things I need to do is then to connect Gnd to ground, and RX, TX to RX, TX on the Arduino. And maybe hook up some LEDs to SPIO 4-6.

Thanks!

[EDIT] Okay so good thing I decided to double check. I though I had read the voltage from the pins was 3.3V but looks now like it's 5V. So I guess I need to use a voltage regulator?
By follower
hahanoob wrote:I have an Arduino Uno and I just got a WiFly GSX Breakout. I'm new to this so I'd like to verify I'm not going to destroy anything while trying to connect them.
  • "Ultra-low power (4uA sleep, 40mA Rx, 210mA max Tx)" (WiFly) vs "A 3.3 volt supply generated by the on-board regulator. Maximum current draw is 50 mA." (Uno)
  • "PIO’s are not 5.0 VDC tolerant. If using a 5.0 VDC circuit, input, PIO and UART input pins require a resistor divider. A suggestion is to use a 10K resistor in series with 20k resistor to ground." (WiFly)
So I guess I need to use a voltage regulator?
You'll need to wire up a 3.3V voltage regulator to supply enough current. Then you'll need to use some form of level conversion for the communication lines.

--Philip;
By hahanoob
Okay, thanks! I'm going to run through my plan one more time to be sure I have everything. I'm just going to hook up 3.3v on the Arduino directly to VDD-BAT and VDD-IN like before. GND right to GND like before.