SparkFun Forums 

Where electronics enthusiasts find answers.

Have questions about a SparkFun product or board? This is the place to be.
By SilverLogic
Okay, so I'd like to try an experiment, I am trying to create a grow light made entirely of LEDs, something similar to the following:

http://www.shop.sunshine-systems.com/Th ... -98562.htm

There is a blog I've found where someone has created their own:

http://topledgrowlights.com/2010/10/cho ... right-led/

In his blog he mentions using 3mm 1w LEDs between the 450 nm – 470 nm, and 630 nm – 660nm range.

I am a novice programmer, I've created my own AVR prototyping board, so I have some decent knowledge of electronics (although most of my expertise falls in graphics), but I don't even know where to start with this. I was thinking about a using a proto board and just attaching 100 LEDs in parallel, but would this work? To be honest I don't know where to buy the LEDs that I am going to need, I found this one website, but the only ones they have in 630nm are 5mm, and in the aforementioned blog recommends 3mm.

http://www.superbrightleds.com/cgi-bin/ ... =/leds.htm

Any input would help, I am just trying to save some energy and a few bucks on the electric bill, and I don't wanna burn down the house :mrgreen:
By phalanx
I'm working on a design for a friend of mine that has a 75g reef tank which has similar requirements to your application except for the longer wavelenghts (red) which do not penetrate water very well. The array has 100 Luxeon Rebel LEDs in a 50/50 royal blue / cool white ratio. Since we were concerned about cost, we purchased the LEDs directly from Future Electronics which is the primary distributor for Lumileds. We also found that there can be a considerable cost savings if you place an order by telephone instead of buying through their online site. We were able to get the royal blue LEDs for nearly half their advertised price by calling them.