SparkFun Forums 

Where electronics enthusiasts find answers.

Have questions about a SparkFun product or board? This is the place to be.
By Dr.Ivan
Hi there :)

I'm rather new in this field, so please bear with me.

Intro:
The primary aim of this project is to learn more about the basic electronic components and computation (plus having something completely awesome, yet entirely pointless to show my nerdier friends ;) ).

Aim:
To build a 2-bit ALU with NPN transistors, resistors and LEDs only.

Schematics:
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/File:2-bit_ALU.png, replacing the two 8-bit muxes with 4-bit muxes as per http://electrosofts.com/verilog/mux_circuit.jpg

Conditions:
A) Inputs (2 numbers, each 2 bits wide as well as the mathematical operation to perform, 2 bits wide) are set by simple SPST switches
B) The 2 bit output should be represented by 2 LEDs
C) All logic gates should be constructed from NPN transistors and resistors only (http://alansouthall.files.wordpress.com ... -03-pm.png). Each gate should have an LED indicating the state of the output pin.
D) Power source should either be a 9V battery or a USB port (5V)

My questions:
Is this project plan at all feasible? After sitting down and trying to simulate one of the muxes in such setup I found it tremendously difficult to make it work. It requires ridiculously high current, and output voltage is far too small to switch a LED on (all my LEDs require around 2.3-2.6V). I tried to adjust resistor values (replacing the 10k and 330 Ohm resistors demonstrated here with 10 and 100 Ohm resistors respectively), which helped to a certain degree (I can see change in output voltage), but it's still far too small to power a LED.

Should I perhaps instead use two power sources: one for logic and one for LEDs? Do you have any other tips to get me going?
By tecoist