SparkFun Forums 

Where electronics enthusiasts find answers.

Have questions about a SparkFun product or board? This is the place to be.
By Nakor
Hello,

I'm fairly new here and unfortunately I expect this question has already been asked many times. I have attempted to search for the answer but maybe it's so simple that it doesn't get asked often.

Anyway, I am building my first order and something isn't quite clear to me. I am picking up an Arduino, and as far as I know this can be powered through USB. I'm fairly certain that it can also power some things to the breadboard. I thought it would be wise however to pick up the breadboard power supply kit ( http://www.sparkfun.com/commerce/produc ... cts_id=114 ) and a wall wart. What isn't clear to me is what exactly I need.

Issue 1) Do I need the 5V, or the 9V? Keep in mind that I am just starting out and will (at least for the first month) be working mainly with an Arduino and breadboard. I learn very fast with this type of thing so I want to plan for expandability.

Issue 2) The wall warts (listed above) say that they are regulated. Do I even need the breadboard power supply kit? I suspect that I should have it as an extra precaution, but I'm just not sure. If I do need both the wall wart and the power supply kit, I'm thinking I should get the 9V and have the kit turn it down to 5V or 3.3V.

Any help here would be greatly appreciated :)
By anhingus
if you want a choice of 5v or 3.3v go with the 9v wallwart.

voltage regulators are active voltage dividers and need an input higher than their output.

you can use a regulated wallwart to power a breadboard but the LM317 in the kit will give you better voltage regulation and less noise in your circuits.

usb is designed to provide limited power from your computer. a separate breadboard supply overcomes this limit.
By viskr