SparkFun Forums 

Where electronics enthusiasts find answers.

Have questions about a SparkFun product or board? This is the place to be.
By mog13
My Shot at making something semi decent

If you don't care about the info and just want to see my current question skip to the bottom :)

-Background-

Hey,

my names Morgan, and this has been on my list of things i've wanted to do for ages, now, after recently discovering the arduino I believe I'm closer to achieving my goal.
I'm a physics, maths and computing student so I always thought electronics would be easy for me. In retrospect a arrogant and truly wrong view but as a hobby I find it fascinating. So firstly I apologise for any mistakes or misunderstanding because I am pretty new to this. The reason I am posting here is because i've found Sparkfun to be a useful and resourceful place before and as I consider this to be a long term project I thought it wiser to make one continuous post rather than plaguing the forums with odds and ends.

I got into arduino fairly recently and have been nothing but impressed. my first few simple projects have been a reasonable success and have inspired me to shoot straight to my goal.

-The Project-

The final aim of my project is to have a hand-held device that has input (controls), output (screen) and changeable media ( e.g like different games or programmes)

-Progress-

So far I have only just been researching my project, like I said I'm new to it so I'm not sure on the right ways to go about it.
but so far:

-Screen-

At first i was using two 8*8 bi colour led matrices with a 8-bit shift register for each one. This was part of a previous project that was part of my fiddeling with electronics and seemed ideal at the time. however a 16*8 dualcolor screen is a bit pathetic, not to mention with there current setup the amount of I/O 's they take up (im aware of ways to reduce this).