SparkFun Forums 

Where electronics enthusiasts find answers.

Have questions about a SparkFun product or board? This is the place to be.
By barbogliop98
Hi. I need to buy a stepper Motor, but I need to know it it will work with a AA battery and how long would it work for. I need to use a stepper motor. Where I will be using it there is no electricity so it needs to work on a battery and its far away so it needs to last the longest it can. What do you recommend?

Thank you
By leon_heller
A stepper motor typically requires a much higher voltage than 1.5V, and takes a lot of current.
By Shifted
Maybe post some info on what the motor is doing?

Is it moving something heavy? What are the torque requirements? Duty cycle?

But as said above, I doubt you'll find a stepper motor that operates on 1.5v and the current that can be provided by a AA battery.
By DeusExMachinist
Can someone explain to a complete noob how you would go about selecting a battery for use with the SFE Stepper motor?
By EmbeddedMan
DeusEx,

Sure thing. First, however, you need to tell us how you'll be driving the motor - what driver chips or other method will you use?

If you use the EasyDriver, then any DC source between 30V and about 8V will work out fine.

As other have said, stepper motors take a lot of current. They are not normally used for battery powered devices because of this fact. (They consume pretty much constant current weather they are moving or not, so take that into consideration.) The SFE stepper motor, driven with an Easy Driver, at maximum current, will consume maybe around 1Amp all the time.

You'll need a large gel-cell, or maybe a battery from a power drill.

*Brian
By DeusExMachinist
Thanks for the help. I'll be using the easydriver and arduino. How does amperage factor into my selection?
By MichaelN