SparkFun Forums 

Where electronics enthusiasts find answers.

All things pertaining to wireless and RF links
By Mechanic
To all,
I'm new to wireless technology and very interested in learning how to use it.

I'm trying to control the pump on my well by monitoring the level in my water storage tank. I have a float switch in the tank and it's approximately 600' to 700' from the tank to the power for the well with the lione of sight obscured by a metal building. I would like to use a battery for the TX with a solar panel to keep it charged. As I envision it, when the float switch closes it will turn on the TX and I would like it send some type of signal every 20 seconds (for example) to the RX. When the RX receives the signal it will energize a relay and will probably have to energize a larger relay which will turn on the 20 amp pump. To avoid pinging the relays every 20 seconds and, I would like the RX to keep the output signal high until the TX quits sending a signal; the RX would look for 30 sec (for example) for another signal and if it doesn’t see on it toggles the output to low. I would like to have some frequency selection choices so I could use this same design for other applications within range.

I don’t know if I can accomplish all this with just an RF Link or if I need a micro controllers. I’m comfortable with programming languages with some examples ( loops, if’s, clock, input, output) I’m confident. Perhaps I’ll need a node? In short, what will I need? By the way, this application is in California, USA

Mechanic
By daniels_here
You want the CC1110 they are a micro from TI they have inbuilt micro and RF. You can use them over 433, 900 and (2.4GHz if you get the cc2510) all the ISM bands with easy change to the code.